Nosey Parker in the Neighbourhood

Diary of a Flutter.Kat
 
I’m taking part today in Diary of a Flutter.Kat’s Nosey Parker in the Neighbourhood. This last month I have been exploring the blogs of other makers like it’s going out of fashion. Since Sew Thankful Week I’ve been in touch with so many cool makers across the world. It’s been so fun getting to know other people. So I thought I’d join in with this one too. But before I do, if you haven’t already, go now and enter the Moon Munkie Mystery Make Giveaway.
 
 Done that? Ok, well let’s continue then.
 
1)  What are your preferred crafts? Do you have one primary one that you do most of or do you dabble around in many different crafts?
I love making. It doesn’t matter how, really. Each year I try to learn a new skill or two. 2011 was knitting and royal icing for example. I’d love to learn to crochet properly this year. I suppose sewing is my first love, but I also do a bit of scrapbooking, cardmaking, baking, quilting (which in my head is different from sewing, somehow!), origami and I really love writing too. Finding new ways to teach Moon Munkie is a craft all in itself too; we call that Playful Learning.  If I were to make a list of all the crafts I’d like to do then I’d probably be here ’til next year. But here are a few: calligraphy, flower-arranging, amigurumi, dressmaking, woodworking, photography, cake decorating, etc., etc. The craft that feels furthest beyond my reach is drafting – to be able to make my own patterns for clothes would be a dream come true. I’d also love to be able to paint and draw, but I have enthusiasm above talent in that area!
 
2)  What avenues inspire you most in your sewing/crafting that we might like to check out?

Well, probably the people who are reading this are the people who most inspire me -all of you out there who have sewing or craft blogs. I subscribe to Molly Makes Magazine, which is beautifully produced; he colours and photos make me want to leap up and make straight away. I love to browse through Etsy and shop for pretty things. Wibbling Wools is an amazing yarn shop in town; I want 2 of everything from there! Probably the most inspiring blog is read is Sew Liberated. Meg is amazing. She homeschools her boys and runs a business at the same time. Her attitude to life is the attitude I long to have!

 3) Are you a one project at a time person or do you have craft ADD?

Ahhh. I posted about this issue just this week. I’m a serial starter. It’s a problem. I get so enthusiastic about my next project that my others get left behind. I never, ever, ever have just one project on the go. If I’ve got less than 10 WIPs then it’s a good month. If I’m honest, some never get finished. Others, I get round to eventually. I’m currently having a month of finishing up, not allowing myself to begin any new projects until March 1st, 2012. It’s killing me! But I’m getting lots done.
4)  What is/has been your longest ever Work in Progress (WIP)?

Erm.. really? I have to tell you that? Well ok, if it’s just between you and me and you promise not to tell anyone else. I started to knit 12″ squares for a blanket. In 2003. 6 done. 10 more to go. At this rate, it will be finished by about 2025.

5 ) What are some of your crafty projects that you’ve made recently that you’d love us to see?

The project I’ve most enjoyed recently was making Moon Munkie’s play kitchen. It was so much fun and I learned a lot of new skills too. And the best of all time was a  wedding quilt for a friend. The applique on the central panel featured her and her husabnd on their wedding day and I adored every minute of making it.

My least favourite project recently has been my Dad’s birthday cake. I bit off more than I could chew and had a nightmare trying to get the sugar paste to hang together. Although I was reasonably happy with the finished cake, it took hours longer than I had anticipated and so I won’t be trying sugar modelling again any time soon.

 

2 Comments

  1. The play kitchen is adorable, you can really be proud of yourself!
    And for the cake – I never tried sugar icing, I always just make cakes fileld and covered with lot’s of cream and fruits… not really healthy but tasty

    Like this

    • Sounds yummy. Cream and fruit is such a good combination. I especially wanted it to be a model of my Dad playing the guitar to celebrate his 6th birthday. I got a quote from a “proper” baker, but it was £145 which was wasy WAY beyond my budget. In the end, it looked ok. Sugar icing is fun, but not when there’s a deadline!

      Like this

Comment

