Crazy Craft Ladies

I got off the tube at Earl’s Court yesterday and it felt like an ordinary Saturday morning in London. As I waited for the next train, I started to realise that it wasn’t a run of the mill day at all. If you weren’t part of it, you probably wouldn’t’ve spotted it. But as I stood quietly on the platform I began to notice some tell tale signs that something unusual was happening.

It began with a handmade accessory here and a quilted tote bag there. Then I realised I realised that almost every person on the platform was female. As I got on to the train I started to count handmade made dresses and skirts, knitted gloves, scarves and cowls. And a closer inspection of their luggage showed that these women had plans. Boxes on wheels. Empty suitcases. Huge shopping trolleys. All suspiciously empty. The climax came as we stepped off the train at Olympia and 50 Cath Kidston umbrellas mushroomed in defiance of the insidious rain that signifies spring in Britain. Either I was an inadvertant participant in some form of flashmob performance art (oh, I wish, I wish. Maybe one day …) or I had indeed arrived ay my destination. Stitch and Craft 2012. 

Oh. My. Goodness. It was crazy. Brillant but crazy. Craft ladies are scary if you get between them and a bargain. And they seem to have more elbows than regular people. My main impression of the day were the colours. Everywhere you looked there were yarns, quilts, threads, fabrics, papers, buttons, ribbons, inks, pens and everything else you can think of that might be even tangentially linked with makery. It’s going to take me all week to tell you about the amazing things I saw and learned. But for now, have a look at some of the gorgeous colours.

  

  

One thought on “Crazy Craft Ladies

Comment

