Do you Zentangle?

Did I mention I went to Stitch and Craft 2012 at the weekend? No? I felt sure I must have dropped it into conversation once or twice over the last month. My bad. Anway, I went and it rocked. I came back with sooooo many ideas and new things to try. And I’ll be writing more on those later in the week. But for today I want to talk Zentangle.

I had never hear of this. It’s not sewing or knitting or crochet or textile based. In fact, between you and me I think it’s probably classed as art. But I won’t tell anyone if you don’t. It’s hard to explain what it is without using the word doodling. But that hardly covers it. This method of drawing enables even the most thick-fingered, dunder-headed, pencil-monkey like myself to produce a quick doodle that is half way decent. Here is my first try, which I did almost as soon as I got home. It’s not brilliant. I’ve done a couple more since and I’m getting increasingly better.

It began as a form of meditation or mind relaxation.  I can’t say for sure that I feel more relaxed after, but it certainly is a lot of fun. You take a piece of paper 9cm x 9cm and draw a “string” across it. This is essentially a line or two of any shape or direction to give your doodle basic structure. Then begin to fill the spaces with smaller repetitive patterns and lines. The next spaces seem to suggest themselves as the doodle grows and becomes more intricate.

It’s super fun and super quick too and there’s no equipment to buy to start. Although if you google Zentangle you’ll come up with some great books and recommendations of the type of pens and papers to use to make it look awesome. I did mine in pencil and it’s no way as beautiful as the ink ones. Go and Google now, or take a look at these sites. And don’t forget to drop me a comment and tell me how you’re getting on. I’d love to see your work.

slide-001a

 Zentangle – This is the official home of Zentangle and a great site for learning about the background of this craft, the people who created it and some of the meditative techniques associated with it.

 

 

 

How To Zentangle – This page gives you a step by step example of how to create a simple Zentangle.

 

 

 

My name (Linda) drawn in a Zentangle®, using Tangle Patterns whose names start with the letters of my name. Click this Zentangle® to learn more.

TanglePatterns– This is an excellent reference library of the “official” Zentangle patterns and how to draw each one. Personally, I’m not sure I want to get this far into it, but it’s nice to know it’s there!

4 thoughts on “Do you Zentangle?

  1. Lol. I seem to do them all the time in work meetings. ALL the time. I think it totally speaks to the benefits of doodling; I’m glad someone(s) have noticed the zen of the doodle.

    Like

    1. Hi. The stand at the show had them displayed in so many different ways. Wall art, jewellery, crockery, even a pair of plimsolls. For me, I’m just keeping them in a book for my own enjoyment.I like “Tangler”. Are you going to give it a go?

      Like

Comment

