Close-knit village

Are you tired of hearing about my trip to Stitch and Craft 2012? Well, I’m only half done with telling you about it, so go and make a cup of tea and get a biscuit before you start with today’s offering.

I have to confess I’m a sucker for a model village. I know it’s a 1890s thing to like, but then I’ve always been an old fashioned girl. This is my favourite. I love imagining what’s going on inside the little houses. The tiny lives of tiny people. I love the intricate detail that the designers capture in minute replication. As a kid I loved the feeling of being a giant as I walked along the streets and stepped over the roof tops. I guess my love of Gulliver’s Travels, The Borrowers and Alice in Wonderland all stem from this same delight. And of course, any stories that take place within a dollshouse, 5 Dolls in a House  by Helen Clare being top of my list. [Note: How I wish I still had my copy of this book from childhood. It’s out of print now and too expensive to buy again.]

So, just imagine my pleasure when I discovered a model village at Stitch and Craft 2012! And all completely knitted. Participants in the competition had applied in advance to make a particular village feature and then once it was made, brought it to the show. It was so wonderfully produced and with such humour. I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves.

Comment

