Breakfast Muffins

Breakfast is intrinsically difficult. I find it hard to eat early in the day and yet I know that a good healthy breakfast is essential to a good healthy day. The breakfast products available seem to fall into 3 categories. Type 1: So full of sugar, fat, salt and refined stuff that I’d hesitate to eat them as a meal. Only for high days and holidays. Type 2: Pretending to be healthy. May have whole grains but still containing a lot of sugar and salt. Tends to be the sort I buy. Type 3: The genuinely healthy, but almost inedible at that time of the day. Shredded Wheat is what I’m talking about here.  My other problem with cereal products is that to feel full I need to eat at least twice the recommended portion size.

Sugar free muesli is fine. Porridge is healthy and tasty but I do like to pour on the syrup. Also I’m not good at preparing it right and I really hate cleaning up the pan and bowls after. Between muesli and porridge, breakfast at home is manageable. But I’ve really been trying to come up with something a bit different that would fill me up and also feel like a treat. I love muffins for breakfast, but with the butter and sugar (and *gasp* chocolate chips!), they’re not good for me.  Plus I’m hungry and cranky an hour later after the sugar buzz wears off.

So I’ve been messing around with a muffin recipe to see if I could turn it into a breakfast muffin with a difference. I cooked up the first batch last night in readiness for this morning. And for a first go, they were good. Almost-fat free (I had to grease the pan), almost sugar-free (I forgot to  check the apple sauce til after), and wheat-free too. Tasty and filling. A good breakfast treat. Much denser than a sweet muffin, but not chewy like bread. And still moist the morning after I made them. I’m going to stick what’s left in the freezer and see how they hold up.

To come up with it, I looked at recipes I already used and some I had when I was on a diet a few years ago. I used American cups to measure because I wanted it to be a quick to make recipe.

Ingredients

1 cup of wholemeal spelt flour (you could try something else if you need it to be gluten free)

1 cup rice flour

2 tsp baking poweder

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1/2 cup of sultanas (but it could be anything you like here)

1/4 cup ground almonds (could be any ground or chopped nuts)

1/4 cup dessicated coconut (but could be any ground or chopped nuts)

1/2 cup apple sauce ( I forgot to check if it was sugar free – it wasn’t! Next time I can make it myself or buy sugar free)

1 cup of milk (but I’m thinking this could be apple juice if it needs to be dairy free)

1 egg

honey to taste (I used 3 dessert spoons)

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp mixed ground spice (next time I’m going to try lemon zest)

To make:

Heat oven to 180 degrees

Oil a deep muffin tray (the American type, not the fairy cake type)

Mix the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet ingredients in the other bowl.

Add the try ingredients to the wet ingredients and combine.

Fill the muffin tin so each is pretty full up.

Bake for about 18 minutes.

Tip on to a rack and let them cool.

Comment

